Welcome and From Then till Now

Welcome to my first Blog! This is a whole new world and learning experience for me.  Due to my constantly changing life being a Navy Wife, I figured this would be a good way for family and friends to keep up with the Daily Life and Adventures of The Watts! =)

My first post is a snap-shot of the story of how we met, dated, got married, and how we got to where we are today!

Hope you Enjoy! =)

My Husband and I randomly met in January 2009, when he was house-hunting in Memphis; I was finishing up my last semester of Graduate School.  We were able to date about 3 months before I moved to Augusta, Georgia to complete my 4th year residency at the Augusta VA Medical Center.  Thus, began our 18 month long-distance relationship.  We saw each other approximately every 4-8 weeks.  After a year in Augusta, I took the Big Leap, and moved to Monterey, California.  I was blessed to obtain a job as a Clinical Audiologist with the Palo Alto VA Healthcare System.  We knew that Nathan was to eventually be at the Naval Postgraduate School.  I moved to Cali without knowing a single person, found an awesome condo with a bay view, and found my way meeting new friends and working.  Nathan put me in contact with some of his friends from the Navy, and I was quickly adopted into the Navy Life as the “girlfriend.” =)

7 months later, Nathan moved to California.  I found him a rental home in Pacific Grove.  It was great to finally be in the same city. Central California is wonderful.  It’s close to many fun places for weekend trips.  Some of the places we visited included: Tahoe, Yosemite, San Francisco, Wine Country, Santa Barbara, San Louis Obispo, Cambria/ Hearst Castle, San Diego, Disneyland, San Jose, Sacramento, Santa Cruz, and the list goes on!

Nathan FINALLY proposed on November 19, 2011, at a gazebo located along the Monterey Bay! We were married in Knoxville, TN (where I’m from) on June 30, 2012.

Following our Wedding, (literally 2 days after) we headed to Newport, Rhode Island for Nathan to attend Department Head School.  Therefore, I named our Honeymoon.. Our “Honeymove” since we really weren’t able to plan a real trip.  However, we took our time, stopping at Monticello, Gettysburg, Amish Country, Philadelphia, Valley Forge, and Mystic, Conn. (Yes, we are history nerds!)

A quick summary of my 10 months in Newport (Nathan was only there 8 months due to attending training in Dahlgren, Virginia) included: making some wonderful friends, re-connecting with friends from Cali, working part-time as an Audiologist at an ENT’s office in Providence, visiting the Newport Mansions (we joined the Preservation Society, which I highly recommend), sailing in the Newport Harbor, trips to Boston, NYC, New Hampshire, Maine, and Vermont, and let’s not forget living through Superstorm Sandy and Winterstorm Nemo!  We enjoyed our time in New England, but we were both ready to go!! We were tired of the Rhode Island roads, drivers, and cold weather! We are currently in the middle of a PCS move to Pearl Harbor, Hawaii.. And we couldn’t be more excited!

Past 2 months recap: Our house was packed on April 25th.  We had almost 3 weeks of hotel living and time to kill in the New England area before Nathan was to be flown to Bahrain for this last short deployment.  This is the time we traveled throughout Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, and back to Boston.  Due to it taking at least 6 weeks for our home goods to arrive in Hawaii (and me not having a job), I decided to drive South to Tennessee to spend time with my family and friends.  It’s been quite a ride with more traveling. (and I’ve now been living out of 4 suitcases for almost 2 months) I was able to go to Pawley’s Island, SC with my Aunt for a week, visit very close friends in Nashville and Memphis, and visit The Watts at their Riverbend Ranch in Big Sandy, TX.  Although Nathan and I are used to time apart, this is my first experience with a “deployment.”  Honestly, I can’t complain.  Maybe if I had been alone in Hawaii.. But I’ve been so blessed with this opportunity to have this time with loved ones I rarely see.  I’ve been lucky to get about an email a day and 4-5 phone calls from Nathan.

I know my first entry is long! Thanks for being patient with all the recaps! Over the last 2 months, I’ve traveled many miles and visited or traveled through 16 states.  My biggest trip (adding 3 more states) is yet to come when I begin my journey to Hawaii on Friday! This also means.. Soon we will be re-united!

Stay tuned as the journey unfolds and the adventures begin!

Katie

Leave a comment